Dr. Russell Bauer Wins 2017-2018 Doctoral Dissertation Advisor/Mentoring Award


Russell Bauer, Ph.D., ABPP, is one of five UF faculty members recognized with a Doctoral Dissertation Advisor/Mentoring Award for 2017-2018. Dr. Bauer previously won this award in 2003-2004 competition. Past award winners from our department including Dawn Bowers, Ph.D. (2015-2016), Michael Marsiske, Ph.D. (2012-2013) and Michael Robinson, Ph.D. (2011-2012).

The UF Graduate School’s annual Faculty Doctoral Mentoring Award encourages and rewards excellence, innovation and effectiveness in mentoring doctoral and Master of Fine Arts students through their final dissertation or fine arts thesis project. Nominations for the award come from current graduate students, graduate alumni, faculty members, graduate coordinators, department chairs, school directors, college deans and higher-level administrators. Each year, the award gives $3,000 to approximately five faculty members, with an additional $1,000 deposited into each winner’s department account for use in supporting doctoral or Master of Fine Arts students.

Current and past winners of this mentoring award may be found at http://graduateschool.ufl.edu/academics/doctoral-mentoring-awards/. There, you will also be able to read their statements about their approach to mentoring of doctoral and Master of Fine Arts students, and the theory and methodology behind their successes.