Szymkowicz Wins Benton-Maier Award

CHP doctoral student Sarah Szymkowicz has won the prestigious Benton-Maier award for Neuropsychology from the American Psychological Foundation

Sarah Szymkowicz, MS, Dept of Clinical & Health Psychology
Sarah Szymkowicz, MS, Dept of Clinical & Health Psychology

Congratulations to CHP Doctoral Student Sarah M. Szymkowicz (Mentor: Vonetta Dotson, PhD), who is a 2016 recipient of the Benton-Meier Scholarship for Neuropsychology graduate students.  Awarded by the American Psychological Foundation of the American Psychological Association, recipients receive $2 ,500 in support of their doctoral research.

Recipients of this highly competitive award must have completed doctoral candidacy and must have demonstrated research competence and area commitment. For more details about the award program, see

Ms. Szymkowicz won the award for her dissertation project titled “Age-Related Mechanisms of Emotion Anticipation and Perception.” She has been working under the mentorship of Dr. Vonetta Dotson in the Cognitive Neuroscience of Aging and Depression laboratory and is co-mentored by Dr. Dawn Bowers.

Ms Szymkowicz continues a long tradition of University of Florida success with this competitive award.  Past winners include:


Aliyah Snyder


Jacob Jones


Jenna Dietz


Matthew Cohen


Laura Zahodne


Ania E. Mikos
Ida Kellison


Bonnie Sachs
Utaka Springer


Paul Seignourel, PhD *Henry Hécaen Scholarship


Elizabeth Leritz, *Henry Hécaen Scholarship


Laura J. Grande, *Henry Hécaen Scholarship”